Skip to content

Primary election slate set for May 17; Bozarth seeks seventh term

With the closing of the extended filing season on Monday for the May 17 primary election, the listing of candidates for the ballot has been set.

Several incumbents will face no challengers in the primary, along with several races which will see no contested elections in the general come November.

Incumbents who have no challengers to reelection are Judge/Executive Johnny “Chic” Roberts (Republican), County Attorney Paul L. Madeen, Jr. (Democrat), Sheriff Dale Bozarth (Democrat), County Clerk Trina Ogle (Democrat), Property Valuation Administrator Karen M. Robertson (Republican), Jailer Roger Estes (Democrat), District 2 Magistrate Kasey Emmick (Democrat), District 3 Magistrate John Mark Gray (Republican), District 1 Constable Jack Jones (Democrat), District 3 Constable Brandon Bozarth (Democrat) and District 4 Constable W. Lloyd Basham (Democrat).

Other county office filings include:

  • Coroner – D.A. Gibson (Republican).
  • District 1 Magistrate – John Garner (Democrat), Darrell D. Wall (Democrat), and Roy A. White (Republican).
  • District 4 Magistrate – Loren T. Newton (Republican, incumbent) and Gary Baker (Republican).
  • District 2 Constable – Michael Carlson (Republican), Josh Estes (Democrat), and Bobby Rice (Democrat).

District 38 Division 1 District Judge J.B. Hines of Brownsville has filed reelection. Hawesville attorney Daniel Boling has filed for District 38 Division 2 district judge.

Circuit 38 Circuit Court Judge Timothy R. Coleman of Morgantown has filed for reelection.

District 8 State Senator Matt Castlen will not seek reelection. The only candidate to file for the office is Gary M. Boswell (Republican) of Owensboro. Boswell is a farmer and a former Daviess County commissioner.

District 14 State Representative Scott Lewis (Republican) of Hartford is seeking reelection unopposed. Hancock County was moved into the 14th following redistricting after the 2020 U.S. Census.

U.S. Senator Rand Paul of Bowling Green is seeking reelection. He is challenged in the Republican primary by Arnold Blankenship of Ashland, Dr. Valerie Fredrick of Murray, Paul V. Hamilton of Nicholasville, Tami L. Stainfield of Marion, and John Schiess, who is listed as being from Wisconsin.

Democratic candidates for U.S. Senate are Charles Booker of Louisville, Joshua Wesley Blanton, Sr., of Louisville, Ruth Gao of Louisville, and John Merrill of McKee.

District 2 U.S. Congressman Brett Guthrie (Republican) is seeking reelection. He is challenged in the primary by Brent Feher of Owensboro and E. Lee Watts of Lexington. Democratic candidates are William Dakota Compton of Bowling Green and Hank Linderman of Falls of Rough.

The last day to register to vote in the primary election is April 18. The last day to register to vote in the General Election is Oct. 11.

The filing deadline for nonpartisan races such as mayor, city council and school board is set for June 7. The General Election is set for Nov. 8.

Leave a Comment