Skip to content

Waldie ties record, wins 10th club champion


Kevin Waldie dominated the field to win the club championship golf tournament held at Windward Heights Country Club this past weekend. Waldie shot a pair of 65s to win by eight shots over Logan Griffin. Waldie’s total score of 14-under par 130 tied the record for this event.

Waldie fired a 7-under par round of 65 on Saturday and held a four stroke advantage over Griffin and Tristan Bozarth, who both shot 69. Grant Robinson was next with a 71 and Logan Cheek rounded out the championship flight with a 73.

A hot start by Waldie on Sunday all but sealed the win. He birdied six of the first eight holes and carded a 6-under par 30 going out. Griffin had a solid round of 34 but could not keep pace with the defending champ. Griffin made two early birdies on the back nine then Waldie answered with three consecutive 3s on holes 13 though 15. Both players come home in 35, while the remaining contenders faded a bit down the stretch. It was the 10th club championship title for the 38 year-old.

The final order of finish in the championship flight are as follows:

Kevin Waldie        65-65=130

Logan Griffin       69-69=138

Tristan Bozarth   69-77=146

Grant Robinson   71-76=147

Logan Cheek        73-73=149

First Flight

David Tongate took the title in the First Flight with a four stroke victory over Jeff Shultz. Tongate fired a 2-over par 74 on Saturday then followed that up with a 73 on Sunday (147). Shultz shot 77-74=151, and Blake Payne was third with rounds of 78-75=153, taking the third spot on a western playoff over Harold Hagman, who also shot 153. Scott LaMar rounded out the First Flight.

Second Flight

Josh McCartney won the Second Flight with a two stroke win over Steve Wimmer. McCartney fired rounds of 82-76=158. Wimmer shot 83-77=160, and Tad Wettstain shot 83-83=166. Eric Willis was next at 87-83=170.

Third Flight

Jeff Kessans got the win in the Third Flight, shooting 90-93=183. Second place was Joe Madden at 92-96=188. Chris Pate and Ricky Johnson also competed.

Senior Championship

Jim Smith cruised to victory in the Senior Flight with rounds of 76-70=146. Second place went to Gary Bickett at 80-81=161, and third place was Gary Frazier at 84-78=162. Mike Hensley and Roy Butler also competed.

Junior Championship

Dec Lewko won the Junior Championship with a decisive victory over Conner Napier. Lewko fired rounds of 76-81=157, while Napier shot 87-83=170. Max Gray was third at 89-83=172. Jacob Shultz shot 90-84=174. Korbin Kruse also competed.

By Steve Wimmer

Leave a Comment