Skip to content

Hornet tracksters compete at Central Hardin meet

By Steve Wimmer

The HCHS track & field teams competed in a big  meet at Central Hardin High School Saturday.

“We had a good meet even though we had 10 athletes missing for various reasons,” HCHS coach Chris Hawkins said. “This meet helped make some decisions on where we will run kids at region.”

Girls results

Story Conway won the discus event with a throw of 71 feet, three inches. Brianna Mooneyham was seventh at 56 feet.

“Congratulations to Story for winning the discus. She threw very well,” the coach said.

Aly Voyles placed third in the 1600 meter run in a time of 6:14, and Juliana Nevitt was ninth in 7:18. Tracey Denson of Breck County won in 5:51.

Izzy Ross placed third in the 400 meter dash in a time of 2:36, and Lexus Ralph was right behind in fourth in 2:39. Nevitt was 20th in 3:21. The winner was Isabel Grimes of Breck County with a time of 2:31.

Ross was fourth in the high jump with a height of 4–06. Serena McNeilly of Central Hardin won at 4–10.

“Izzy tied the HCMS middle school record with this effort,” Hawkins said.

Conway was sixth in the shot put with a throw of 21–09.5 feet, and Mooneyham was 10th at 19 feet. Raylee Shepherd of Grayson County won at 26–10.5.

Carolina Jones was sixth in the 300 meter hurdles in 58.04 seconds. Mia Dennis of Larue County won in 53.6.

Mooneyham was seventh in the javelin throw with a distance of 50–10. Ava Phillips of Breck County won at 65–11.

“That’s a new school record for Brianna,” the coach pointed out.

Hannah Jackson placed 13th in the 200 meter dash in 33.28 seconds. Isabella Rivera of Larue County won in 28.48. Jackson was 18th in the 100 meters in 15.56. Rivera won in 13.5.

Nevitt was 18th in the long jump with a leap of 10–11. McNeilly won at 14–09.

The 4×800 meter relay team placed second in 11:17. Voyles, Jones, Ross and Ralph ran for HCHS. Larue County won in 11:10.

Larue County won the meet with 129 points. HCHS was seventh with 57 points.

Boys results

Nolan DeJarnette placed third in the 3200 meter run in a time of 11:34. Duke Wilson of Meade County won in 10:48.

Alex Basham was third in the shot put with a throw of 37–05, and James Singleton was seventh at 33–09.5. Ethan Sullivan won at 47–07.

Basham was fourth in the triple jump with a distance of 34–03. Basham was  ninth in the long jump with a leap of 16–05.5. Lionel Taylor of Fort Knox won at 18–09.5.

Singleton was sixth in the discus with a toss of 87–04. Stephen Wilmoth of Larue won at 115–05.

Ben Baker was ninth in the 100 meter dash in 12.18 seconds, and Hayden Shearn was 21st in 13.10. Tristin Griffin of Fort Knox won in 11.39. Baker was ninth in the 200 meters in 25.56, and Shearn was 19th in 27.47. Malik Blunt of Fort Knox won in 22.38.

Baker was eighth in the high jump with a height of 5–02. Jason Hemingway of Fort Knox won at six feet.

Griffin DeJarnette was 13th in the 1600 meters in 5:49. CJ Clifford of Breck County won in 5:09.

Eli Embry was seventh in the 110 meter hurdles in 22.10. Aidan Hunter of Larue won in 16.88.

Max DeJarnette was eighth in the 300 hurdles in 54.45, and Embry was ninth in 56.56. Ashton Lawler of John Hardin won in 47.07.

Landon Mooneyham was 21st in the 800 meters in 2:42. Chase Hines of Larue County won in 2:05.

The HCHS 4×800 meter relay team was seventh in 10:20. Runners were Nolan DeJarnette, Griffin DeJarnette, Hunter Stephens and Damion Basham. Grayson County won in 8:41.

Larue County won the meet with 141 points. HCHS was eighth with 33 points.

Leave a Comment