Primary Election, June 23

By Ralph Dickerson

When the COVID-19 pandemic struck, Kentucky Governor Andy Beshear postponed the Kentucky primary election to June 23, and allowed residents to vote by absentee ballot in the election.

The deadline to request an absentee ballot by mail passed Monday. Now residents wanting to receive an absentee ballot need to call Hancock County Court Clerk Trina Ogle’s office at 270.927.6117 and request an appointment to pick up a ballot in person. The resident must complete the ballot and mail it back to Ogle’s office, or use the drop box designed for the election. The drop box is located on the second floor of the Hancock County Administration Building, directly across from Ogle’s office. This location allows employees to watch the box to prevent tampering.

Ogle said all mailed ballots would go through a signature match for security reasons before being counted. As normal, there will be a polling location at the clerk’s office for people not able to vote by mail. An appointment must be made to vote on this machine. Voting started on this machine on June 8 and lasts until Election Day on June 23.

In the Republican primary election, President Trump runs unopposed in the race for President. Seven candidates filed to run against incumbent U.S. Senator Mitch McConnell. Running against McConnell is Wendell K. Crow, Paul John Frangedakis, Louis Grider, Naren James, Kenneth Lowndes, C. Wesley Morgan and Nicholas Alsager. Kathleen L. Free filed to run against Second U.S Congressional District Representative S. Brett Guthrie.

In the Democrat primary, the race for president contains 11 Democrats on the ballot, but all of them except Joe Biden have since withdrawn from the race.
Candidates for U.S. Senator include Charles Booker, Mike Broihier, Maggie Jo Hilliard, Andrew J. Maynard, Amy McGrath, Eric Rothmuller, John R. Sharpensteen, Bennie J. Smith, Mary Ann Tobin and Jimmy C. Ausbrooks.

Leave a Comment